[Team Opus] Jordana Holloway, Snowboarder, Mountain Biker, Business Owner, Volunteer, Pretty Much Wonder woman

Name: Jordana Holloway

Age: 31

Grew Up:  Calgary, Canada

Currently Reside: Ohakune

Profession/Sport: Snowboarding and Mountain Biking 

Hi Jordana, can you give us a quick overview of what you're all about? 

I love snowboarding, mountain biking, crafting, gardening and being outdoors.

I’m originally from Calgary, Canada. Once I finished high school there I started working at our little local ski hill and in 2012 I moved to New Zealand. After many years I have finally received permanent residence. 

You must be stoked about that. What brought you across the world to Ohakune? 

In the 2011/2012 winter season in Canada I met my partner Matiu, which landed me in New Zealand for the 2012 winter season at Turoa. I spent a few seasons working in rentals and during the second season I did the level 1 and 2 certificates to become a snowboard instructor. We spent a number of years doing back-to-back winters in Canada, Japan and NZ. I settled back in Canada for a few years to study for a Ski Resort Operations and Management diploma. During this time, I also had an awesome experience working up at a backcountry cat skiing/snowboarding resort called Retallack Lodge. After graduation my partner and I did another season in Japan before returning to NZ in 2018. We decided to stay for summer as well and have lived here year round since. 

Sticking around for the warmer weather got you into a new passion?

Sure did! In 2018 I started getting into mountain biking after a family ride on the OCR (Old Coach Road). That ride sparked an interest in riding bikes. We really enjoy single track/downhill trails and often visit bike parks in Rotorua, Palmerston North, Whanganui and Taupo. We also frequently ride at our local park - Uenuku Pines Mountain Bike Park. This style of riding is what we really enjoy - downhill flow trails with a mix of fun jump and dropdown features.

Your pretty involved with the club out there? 

In the past year Matiu and I have been volunteering our time with the local club that oversees the Uenuku Pine MTB Park. We with the trail work, club rides, and promoting the club and park. I help with administration and treasurer roles, as well as running the club's social media and website. There's been a lot of learning along the way, and I’ve really enjoyed it. It’s been awesome to help grow the club and trail network. I love having this place so close to home. 

We have also heard the MTB park isn't your only volunteer role? 

Last winter I was a part of the Mt Ruapehu Ambassador program where I helped facilitate girl’s shred sessions along with other events/marketing tasks.

One of the primary objectives of the bike club and Ruapehu ambassador program is to promote and facilitate social rides and meetups that create a safe and supportive environment for people to enjoy sports and the outdoors. One of our key focuses is on encouraging more women to participate in these activities and to experience the joy of being active in nature.

On top of all of this you have found the time to start your own business as well? 

About a year ago I started up my own little craft business making decorative concrete plant pots and homeware pieces. The colours I use for the pieces have always been influenced by outdoor adventures, so you see a lot of earthy tones and warm pastel colours. This became popular quicker than expected and has turned into a second job this summer - so it keeps me very busy! I sell the crafts at markets around Ohakune, Raetihi, Whanganui and Taupo. It’s my goal to go to bigger markets in the near future. I purchased a 3D printer over Christmas which has been a cool addition to the craft room. I am learning how to use a 3D CAD program to design my own shapes and templates. I am very excited for this as I want to continue to bring inspiration from the outdoors into creating more outdoor themed pieces.

Wow. You have got to let us in on your secret… 

Caffeine definitely helps! 

We have to agree with you there.

When you are heading outside for an adventure. What can you not leave the house without? 

Merino clothing is essential. I love my Opus little red riding hoodie, and I always have my balaclava on me for snowboarding. 

We're pretty sure you are Wonder Woman but … if you could have any superpower what would it be? 

The power of being more sustainable. I want to be able to grow more food and be more friendly to the environment. Also, the power to spread empathy, to enable people to be more kind and help each other out. 

Love it! Where can people find out more about what you are up to? 

Follow me on these IG pages @jorrr.dana @jordanamarie_crafts @ruapehumtbclub

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published